The task of becoming sea-worthy

Yes, we are sailing…

Admiral’s Log 08/23/2010 

Heading Out At Dawn

I guess I can’t call what I write the captain’s log, can I?  I’ve been told by the seasoned sailors that I am actually the admiral.  I like that.

So, it’s Monday.  After a restful night and free continental breakfast… why do we always feel compelled to eat the ‘free’ breakfast even though it’s really unhealthy food?  Guy was so proud of himself for grabbing the egg omelet thing.  I was proud too, till the timer went off on the waffle maker.    I have no room to talk, but I’ll cover that later.

Everyone Else is Sleeping

It was so peaceful out on the water.  Hardly any sound except for an occasional fish jumping.  We decided to motor around until the sun came up.  We were the only boat out.  It was difficult to contain our excitement.  The sun was taking forever and the next moment it was up.

I could hardly believe it.  We were finally going to sail.  The jib sail was still broken but our boat has additional cables that support the mast. 

Here Comes...

We don’t know why yet, but they’re there.  That gave us some added security that we’d be ok.  Plus, there was almost no wind at all.  Another day of motoring with the sails up.  I think it’s a lucky thing since we are clueless with sailing.  This way… we were able topretend there was a wind and go through the motions without being in any real danger. 

The Sun!

I don’t remember who got to try it first.  I do remember moments of working in harmony.  He is getting better at calling the commands.  He still can’t figure out why I can’t hear him when he speaks facing away from me.  I hate having to make him repeat everything continually, but I guess he doesn’t understand I am trying to hear over the motor.

The Hoisted Mainsail

We hoisted the mainsail with no problem at all.  The jib, being broken was a little bit of a challenge.  Guy untwisted it as I pulled on the furling rope.  It finally opened and there we sat, no wind and total excitement.

Firing up the engine, off we went.  There is an art to tacking, we soon found out.  A way of bringing the jib across the boat effortlessly by allowing the boat to turn hard, either to port or starboard and allowing the wind to do the work.  Then gently turning her back in the direction you wanted to go.  Keep in mind, we don’t know how to sail, and there is absolutely no wind, so we are guessing at this technique.  It just seems right.  While he was at the helm, I would work the halyards on the jib sail.  At first he wasn’t turning hard enough for me to get the sail to come around.  You can see that the previous owner wasn’t skilled at this either, the rope is heavily frayed from someone pulling it hard across the cable.

The First Time

We circled around the south end of the lake.  We were able to kill the motor several times because the wind was strong enough and we were actually sailing!!  We found out first hand what it meant to go into ‘irons’.  It’s a good thing we read up on that.  We did a great job getting ‘out of irons’.  We were feeling accomplished.   Feeling the wind pull us and feeling the boat under wind power was excellent.  A little scary but a lot of fun.  We both felt we were working together as a team for the first time, taking turns operating the helm.  It was a good opportunity to see the importance of each teammate.  Cap’n Guy says he is starting to understand running the boat isn’t a single man experience.  Every crew member has a specific job and it is much smoother being a team, our team.

Team Knot Alot.

Leave a Reply

